Snacks

20180711_171613.jpgNuts and Seeds

As an afternoon snack I grabbed some cashews and pumpkin seeds out of the cupboard to keep me going until dinner.

This is a little over 100g of nuts and under the same table I referenced for the brunch post, is 2.3 Kilos of CO2 per kilo of nuts, therefore .29 grams of CO2 on this one as just agricultural costs.

20180708_162307.jpgCashews

20180708_162407.jpg

Pumpkin Seeds

Upon a quick google search I found that cashews are native to Brazil and are now mainly grown in Africa, India, and Vietnam, all very far away! Looks like pretty much all cashews have to be shipped in from foreign areas, which costs oil to bring to us.

Image result for T&T cashews

The packaging for these cashews are a plastic cylinder with a screw-able plastic lid, also with a handle, the plastic is thick enough that it is very durable while this type of packaging uses a lot of plastic, its also very reusable! I will be sure to reuse this package for something once I’m done all the cashews.

Image result for autoroute laval ouest pumpkin seeds

The pumpkin seeds are packaged in a resealable bag, not as reusable but it at least uses less plastic. I’ll probably end up recycling / throwing this away when I’m done with this however.

Leave a comment